Chief Executive Council

The ONA mandate is to work collectively to advance and assert Syilx/Okanagan Nation Title and Rights over the Syilx/Okanagan Nation Territory. This is the vision and future of the Syilx/Okanagan people. The fundamental strategic direction for today and the following are the CEC strategic priorities:

  • Protection, preservation and enhancement of the peoples, lands and resources of the member bands of the Okanagan Nation;
  • Promotion, enhancement and preservation of the Syilx/Okanagan Nation history, language and culture;
  • Promotion and creation of a public awareness of the Okanagan Nation Alliance concerns, position and accomplishments in the areas of political, social, economic and cultural development;
  • Protection, enhancement and preservation of the environment, fish and wildlife resources located within the traditional territories of the Syilx/Okanagan Nation.

The Okanagan Nation is governed by the Chiefs Executive Council (CEC) which is comprised of the Seven Nation Chiefs and CCT Chairman of the Nation. The current ONA Chairman and spokesperson is Grand Chief Stewart Phillip.

The Chiefs Executive Council holds regular meetings monthly and has quarterly all Chief and Council meetings as well as an Annual General Assembly held in July of every year. Special meetings are called throughout the year to deal with specific areas of concern.

ʔaʔsiwɬ (Grand Chief Stewart Phillip) – ONA Chairman

Ylmixwm Byron Louis – Okanagan Indian Band
Ylmixwm Harvey McLeod – Upper Nicola Band
xwnamxw nam Ylmixwm Roxanne Lindley – Westbank First Nation
Ylmixwm Chad Eneas – Penticton Indian Band
ki law na Ylmixwm Clarence Louie – Osoyoos Indian Band
kalʔlùpaɋʹn Ylmixwm Keith Crow – Lower Similkameen Indian Band
Ylmixwm Bonnie Jacobsen – Upper Similkameen Indian Band
CCT Business Council Chariman Rodney Cawston – Colville Confederated Tribes